RETURN to Sonycine.com
Welcome To Our Community!

Discuss, share & explore cinematography and making the most of your gear.

Alister Chapman

alisterchapman

Hi, I'm Alister a cinematographer and film maker based in the UK. I don't and have never been a Sony employee, but I do have a very good relationship with Sony that goes back many years.

I've been working in film and TV all my life. I studied photography at school and then went on to study electronics to degree level. A lucky break in the late 1980's allowed me to combine photography, electronics and my passion for rally cars when I landed a job designing some of the first broadcast quality camera systems used to film inside race and rally cars. For several years I travelled the world covering the world rally championship and many other motor racing series. Not just doing in car cameras but also track side filming. After this I became freelance and did many different things including TV news, corporate video, more motorsports as well as filming, editing and producing programmes about windsurfing and snowboarding. Eventually I got fed up with all the travelling, so got a job working as an editor in one of the UK's top post production houses. It was here that I learnt how to colour grade while still doing the occaisional shoot. Then another lucky break came when I got a comission from National Geograhic to produce a programme about storm chasing. The programme was called "Twister Tours" and was a hit that led to several spin offs and a lasting desire to shoot more of natures natural extremes. Around this time I also set up my first website, tvcameraman.info. A place to share hints and tips for camera users. In recent years I have filmed all kinds of things including drama, short films, 3D films, TV adverts, hurricanes and volcanoes. At the same time I still run my own website xdcam-user.com and now write about and hold workshops on many aspects of film and TV production. I never intended to get into the teaching