RETURN to Sonycine.com
Welcome To Our Community!

Discuss, share & explore cinematography and making the most of your gear.

Oakley Anderson-Moore // How a Terrible Meal at an All-Night Diner Started My Film Career

IamOakley

Hello people!

Oakley here. I’m a filmmaker. It’s the collaborative nature that drew me to filmmaking, so I’m excited to join this new SonyCine community.

I’ll start by sharing a little about myself. I’m a bit of a strange creature in that I grew up between Apple orchards where my dad was a Fruit Tramp, and overseas, where my youth was spread out across South America, Europe, and Asia.

At some point after I moved back to the States to go to college, wondering what to do with my life, I discovered the magical world of filmmaking.

The first time I showed up to a set, it was some no-budget student 400 Blows ripoff where we were all pretending we knew what we were doing, myself included. I think I was assigned to hold a square-shaped Styrofoam cutout that someone whispered to me was the “bounce.” I held the damned thing up for so long that my arms started shaking. (No one told me to put it down between takes.) Afterwards, we went to some awful all-night diner; the food was terrible, but I had never laughed so hard or felt so much camaraderie.

I could tell this was the path for me.